Moksha-Mammal or Machine

Today’s blog post features an exciting band based out of Las Vegas called Moksha. I discovered this band last summer on a sampler disc that came with an issue of  Relix Magazine. As I was listening to the disc, a track came on that seemed to explode out of the speakers in my car. It had a really exciting energy that sounded familiar while completely original at the same time. The combination of thought-provoking lyrics, horn licks, and a killer funk groove had me more than intrigued. By the time that the track reached the down right gritty breakdown that beautifully built back to a powerful peak, I was hooked. The track that I’m talking about is Blind to the Time, off Moksha’s debut album Mammal or Machine.

This album features an eclectic mix of tracks across varying genres. You’ll find flavors varying from funk to hip hop to bluegrass to Caribbean. Another favorite track of mine on the disc is Interface, which features another infectious groove with some impressive vocal work. The album showcases the bands knack for song structure in the long form while featuring some incredible guitar work, soulful keyboard playing and tight drumming. If that isn’t enough for you, then how about the fact that Santana’s horn section is featured on the album. Enough said.

I have not seen this band live yet, but I have a feeling that this album only skims the surface of what these guys are capable of in a live setting. They are currently touring throughout the southwestern U.S  and making a name for themselves from Vegas to San Francisco and every where in between. I look forward to seeing what Moksha has in store for us in the future. I have a feeling the sky is the limit.

Check out Moksha performing “Interface” here.

One thought on “Moksha-Mammal or Machine

  1. Hay you no my cousin and his name is Mikey and he sead you guys want to sing with me when I come to lasvegs so I hope u no I’m the best singer down In thermopolis so if u can email me that would be sweet and my name is Destiny so thanks for wanting me to sing wit u guys can’t wait have a good day thanks

Leave a comment